Sentence analysis

Editing_and_proofreading_blog_539We did a lot of sentence analysis when I was at school. Our teacher would dictate random sentences, then we would have to write them out & list underneath the subject, object, verb…

This post illustrates another approach to the same thing. Sentence diagrams seem to be very popular in the US.

Visit my websites via the links at the top of this page.

About The Proof Angel

I am a freelance editor and proofreader. I work with a wide range of clients, from companies to self publishing authors. I can help you to communicate clearly in print or on line by providing a fresh pair of eyes, carrying out a final check, or by suggesting ideas to improve the flow of your message.
This entry was posted in Grammar & usage and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sentence analysis

  1. I don’t think I would ever have written if I had to analyse a sentence like this…and I certainly wouldn’t have produced a fluid sentence that sang, or chilled, or exploded like a soft bullet.

    • I know just what you mean! Somehow at school we didn’t connect the sentence analysis with writing. It is surprising what people find helpful. We are all different, aren’t we?

Leave a Reply

