Read a good book and do some good at the same time

Editing_and_Proofreading Blog_380This book edited by Bridget Whelan sounds like a good thing. You get a variety of reading matter, and support a hospice at the same time. That is multi tasking for you.

Visit my websites via the links at the top of this page.

About The Proof Angel

I am a freelance editor and proofreader, working with a wide range of clients from large companies to individuals. I can help you to communicate clearly by carrying out a final check, or by suggesting ideas get your message over. I also have a sideline in textiles, as The Rainbow Angel.
This entry was posted in Bits & bobs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Read a good book and do some good at the same time

  1. ldlagarino says:

    It occurred to me today that I’ve been using “awhile (one word)” incorrectly, when it’s “a while (two words)” that I should be using. I was never completely sure if the two were interchangeable, so today (and I don’t know why it took me so long to do it), I went to the dictionary to clarify. They don’t really mean the same thing. Perhaps you can post something, or am I the only one who didn’t know?

    • Now that is something that hadn’t crossed my mind. I’ve just looked it up in my dictionary, & while has 9 meanings, 5 of which are also covered by whilst. Whilst isn’t a word I hear much these days. Included in the 9 are the Scottish & Northern English use, meaning until. As in I’ll wait while Monday to fetch that paint, or whatever. Fowler’s Modern English Usage has a section “while (noun) see worth”. There is a post in this, but I think it probably needs a bit of thought. I’ll put it on the list. Thanks for the idea!

Leave a Reply

