The history of Roget’s Thesaurus

Editing_and_Proofreading Blog_329Here is a fascinating programme about Roget’s Thesaurus.

Half an hour of:

  • the history of this standard work of reference, which started as Roget’s notes for his own use, & developed into a retirement project, &
  • views on how indispensable/useless the result is in the modern world.

It doesn’t seem possible that the views of the users can be so diverse, does it?

Visit my websites via the links at the top of this page.

About The Proof Angel

I am a freelance editor and proofreader. I work with a wide range of clients, from companies to self publishing authors. I can help you to communicate clearly in print or on line by providing a fresh pair of eyes, carrying out a final check, or by suggesting ideas to improve the flow of your message.
This entry was posted in Bits & bobs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The history of Roget’s Thesaurus

  1. ldlagarino says:

    I have a “Roget’s International Thesaurus” third edition, copyright 1962, Thomas Y. Crowell Company, Inc., opened in front of me as I post this comment. I’ve been wearing it out for years. It’s a great resource to have at your fingertips.

    • I find it takes ages to find anything in my 1980s school prize version, as I keep finding interesting things to side track me. If I need the answer in a hurry I really have to focus on the proper job.

Leave a Reply

